ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Aberdeen - London 2012.

Left my camera at home today to charge, planning to Blip the Olympic Torch passing through Aberdeen this evening. I felt totally naked without my trusty little Leica in my handbag... Blip has really changed the way I lead my life.

An unremarkable day at work punctuated by bouts of overeating... I'm going to blame my cold for my urge to eat two lunches today. In early and out early; flexitime is ace.

When I got home, Mum had prepared a lovely tea of veggie sausages and spicy fried cauliflower and potato (with lots of mango chutney) - yum! After a fairly early tea, we took a wander down Union Street to see the Olympic Torch on its final leg of today's journey.

We walked all the way to Castlegate, where the main stage was set up; but it was really busy with poor visability, so we headed back a little way to find a space at the barrier. It was really all over in seconds; and I only got one photo of the Torchbearer, but the atmosphere was great and I love the smiling faces of the crowd to the left of the runner.

When we got home, I found that pictured is Evelyn Capper, 60, from Ellon. She was selected for the parade for her passion and commitment to foster caring. I enjoyed finding out this Torchbearer's background, and she looked so genuinely happy and excited to be carrying the flame (for bigger smiles go larger!).

Mum and I spent the remainder of the evening playing Scrabble, drinking coffee and eating Turkish Delight. I feel the need to record the score for this evening for all eternity on Blip: 238 to me, 163 to Mum. Not often I can claim a win at Scrabble, especially not against Mum! She must be coming down with the same cold as me. Or perhaps she felt sorry for me. Either way, I don't think she's sad to be going home tomorrow...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.