pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Home Grown

Today 3 of us left the house together leaving just Mollie fast asleep. Henry's bus was on time & I then drove in to Norwich with Daniel and his rucksack, catching the 8 o'clock bus. After showing Daniel the way to the station, we both went in to my office and he sat and read his book for an hour or so. He also got to meet some of my colleagues. His train was at 11. It was nice to hear back from him at 12.40 to know he had made it to his destination.

At lunch I rang an old friend from Cambs CC pensions after getting some sad news that an old colleague had passed away today. I also had welcome contact by text from another member of my old team who may need a reference. It was good to hear he is moving on & hoping to go back into pensions work. I feel like a mother hen, wanting to be sure all my old team are settled and happy, after all we went through together.

I got home at 5.30 and the dinner was being dished up! I do love my children. They had both worked together to conjure up sausages, corn and noodles with soy sauce. Move over Jamie Oliver...

I spent a bit of time this evening vacuuming my ceilings. The spiders will now be having a party inside my Hoover, there were so many. Looking forward to being reunited with my Dyson when Jon moves up in 2 weeks. This one I have here smells of burning rubber and doesn't really pick up. Not long now.

Had a wander round my garden and was excited to spot my first courgettes. They will be ready very soon - I love this bit of gardening. They just appear so quickly. I am usually lucky with courgettes and this soil seems to be going all the right things.

Sewing some badges on my camp blanket now. I'm very proud of it. I'll blip it for you one day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.