Flitting Around!

 A large white butterfly (I think) green-veined white (Pieris nappa) (with thanks to Gen2) seen on a visit to The Vyne National Trust...

I had to get out today, feeling a bit enclosed by 4 walls at the moment, so I thought I'd head over to Basingstoke and visit the Vyne.  

When I got up it was pouring with rain, but by the time I set off the weather was drying up and stayed dry, but very dull most of the day :)

I've been there before, but only round the house and today I wanted to explore the grounds a bit.  

First I visited the bird hide which was really interesting but unfortunately my camera lens is not good enough for the distance, so although I thought I saw a heron through the binoculars, I couldn't get a clear enough shot...

I saw plenty of other wildlife including ducks, some tiny ducklings with their mum (I think there were 10, but again a bit too far away), plenty fo bees and hover flies.  Also another butterfly which I'm unable to identify either....

All other pictures in my flickr today :)

In other news, a friend of mine who I was on a mission trip with in 2009 has sadly passed away after brain surgery last week to remove an aneurysm :(   She never fully came around. So sad for her husband,   children and grandchildren.   


Its a big reminder to live life to the full and enjoy every day because we never know how life will be shortened until it happens...


Happy Wednesday folks :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.