FLOWER FRIDAY - MONTBRETIA CROCOSMIA

I was very careful going out into the garden today and was fully dressed - unlike yesterday, when I was out there in my bright pink robe and pink slippers.  There were two reasons for getting dressed early, one being that I am going into town to meet my friend, Tim, and I didn’t think he would appreciate my pink robe - but secondly, my next door neighbour, Lynn, told me yesterday afternoon that she thought I had gone loopy, because she looked out of her bedroom window, saw me in my robe and swinging my camera around!  I was able to put her straight and told her that she needn’t worry, I was already loopy!  We had a good laugh about it and I told her that it was all in the interests of blipping!

Today, there were plenty of flowers to choose from, roses, marigolds, echinops, carnations, phlox, runner beans, courgettes, cucumbers and any one of these would have done, but then while I was just outside the greenhouse, I spied this little Montbretia Crocosmia, which actually shouldn’t be where it is.  Last year when our new fence was put up between the neighbours on the other side - yes, we have had two new fences - we thought we had pulled up all the Montbretia which was growing in their garden, but which often came through to ours.  Obviously, it is more hardy than we realised, so here it is in all its glory and I think we might leave it there to bloom.  After all, it’s not hurting anyone, and looks very pretty.

I was surprised to see my abstract on the Popular page - and had great fun with that - today I did try to get the Montbretia in focus but wasn't sure whether I should have cropped it to just the flower.

Mr. HCB has gone off to Cheltenham again today for cricket - he and his friend, Keith, are hoping the match will finish today, as tomorrow is the International Air Tattoo at Fairford, and they think there may be a lot more traffic on the road they need to use.  

“A garden to walk in 
and immensity to dream in - 
what more could he ask? 
A few flowers at his feet 
and above him the stars.” 
Victor Hugo, 
Les Misérables

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.