A DAY IN WIMBORNE MINSTER

I've been out adventuring! I got to know Kat, one of the waitresses, at the beachside restaurant we go to, who is now the Manager of her own pub, The Minster Arms at Wimborne, and was keen to see where she was working, so I went there on the bus today.

I found The Minster Arms and it did not disappoint. Kat welcomed me with a big hug (that will bring the customers in!) and introduced me to her Assistant Manager, Emily, who had a beautiful smile. I know the place was a shambles when she took over but she and her team have worked so hard and what a transformation - looking at the "before" and "after" photographs Kat showed me, it doesn't look like the same place!

I had lunch there - Crispy Duck on salad with Hoi Sin and Plum sauce and fries - and it was delicious! Kat had already said I could put up a Post-It - because she knows what I do - so that was duly done and then I took this photograph of her (the one with dark hair) and Emily behind the bar. Norman, the chef, came out of the kitchen (think it was rather warm in there today) and I told him that my meal was worth an hour's journey on the bus from Boscombe.

I then had a wander round Wimborne and went into the Minster, which is beautiful. I heard two men commenting that if the Church of England spent less time and money debating about women bishops they could do a lot more and spend money where it was needed - I was so tempted, but kept quiet!!

I wanted to buy a book in the Minster shop for our neighbours' new baby but didn't have quite enough cash, and the machine wouldn't take cards, so a very kind lady called Angela gave me the extra money - need to pay that one forward soon!

All in all a lovely day, finished off with a cappuccino and huge piece of tiramisu whilst waiting for the bus - mind you, the cappuccino was skinny!

“Make the choice to embrace this day.
Do not let your TODAY be stolen
by the ghost of yesterday
or the "To-Do" list of tomorrow!
It’s inspiring to see all the wonderfully amazing things
that can happen in a day in which you participate.”
Steve Maraboli

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.