Candlestick Hats

I was just about to go out for what has become my regular evening tour of the garden with the lens baby when I spotted the shadows on the kitchen wall.  (I quite liked the shapes).  I haven't had much space in my head for thinking about taking photos though I'm trying to keep up some kind of journal record, even though I'm not doing too well with that either.

It felt like we were beginning to settle a bit more into a routine with our carer visits (plus my brother, the district nurse, J who is keeping us cleaned up and the doctor).  I've come to relish moments like this morning when all is quiet and mum is asleep - it won't last!  

We were hoping to have a walk while my brother was here, but unfortunately the alarm went off on mum's syringe driver (again) and we had to wait for our district nurse to sort it out again.  (At least she found the problem - so I think it's sorted now.)  Mum had a very sleepy day and really didn't eat or drink very much at all.

We had another night sitter last night - another wonderful woman, who made mum some rice pudding in the night and sat and talked to her for an hour about how rapidly life has changed for people in mum's lifetime.  A lifeline for us too - it was my turn to be absolutely exhausted yesterday evening.  It's an amazing service, partly funded by the NHS with support from the Marie Curie charity. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.