Little Miss Knight

We had the most amazing day today! A trip down memory lane for me with a tootle through most of Normandy!!
After another sensational breakfast we packed up, kissed Mme S goodbye and headed off along the Seine to Les Andelys and the fabulous Chateau Gaillard - Richard the Lionheart's castle. It was a masterpiece of design at the time it was built - the blueprint for future medieval castles.
I went there with my mum and dad when I was nine or ten on one of our camper van trips round Normandy. I've always remembered it vividly - the chalky paths, the view down from the ruins to the Seine, the flinty walls and ruined walls, doors and windows. There are photos of me sat on walls and  windows where I'd clambered up. I didn't let the Little Misses follow suit!
It was already roasting when we got there and the castle looked stunning in the sun (see extras)
We walked down the hill and up to the castle and I had a profound sense of continuity - bringing my daughters to a place that I remember so well from when I was only a bit older than them.
We had a bit of a wander around the ruins and then headed up the drawbridge (new staircase) to the inner tower which is the most complete bit of the castle. There was a €3 charge for me and Mr K and I almost thought we shouldn't bother - one pile of stones is much like another pile of stones! I'm so glad we went in!! There was a man and his young son dressed in medieval outfits and all round the inner courtyard were medieval activities for us and the Little Misses to join in. It was fabulous!!
First of all the girls dressed up as Knights - Miss E chose le lapin as her standard, Miss L was le poussin. They got on their tunics and got onto the brilliant wheeled horses while their squires - me and Mr K - donned our tunics and helped them with their lances. Then they had a tournament - jousting, hooking rings with swords, and cutting the apple off the head of the boy with their swords (actually knocking it off a stick he was holding!) all while their squires pushed the horses along. Just brilliant!
Then there was medieval quoits, sack throwing, a version of shove ha'penny played with acorns and practising sword strokes on a knight's dummy. The man's wife and the ticket lady joined in and we all had a wonderful time.
Then - being French - at 1pm sharp they told us it was time to shut the castle!
Perfect timing as the tournament was over.
Best €6 we've spent so far this holiday!!
We ambled back to the car looking for grasshoppers and stopping at all the viewpoints. 
I could have stayed all day but it was time to move on. We followed the Seine a bit more up to Rouen and then got the tiny little car ferry (only four cars at a time!) across it at Jumieges (see extras!) before heading south to Ducey, our home for the next week.
We made it to the supermarket near our gite with minutes to spare before it closed - just time to grab milk and butter for the morning!

Backblipping every day and still not caught up!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.