The Moorhen

“The secret island had looked mysterious enough on the night they had seen it before - but now, swimming in the hot June haze, it seemed more enchanting than ever. As they drew near to it, and saw the willow trees that bent over the water-edge and heard the sharp call of moorhens that scuttled off, the children gazed in delight. Nothing but trees and birds and little wild animals. Oh, what a secret island, all for their very own, to live on and play on.”
 
From 'The Secret Island'  by Enid Blyton (1897 - 1968)




Still in pain with my back, I decided to go for a walk in the late afternoon sunshine.  I ambled through Old Chesham, past St. Mary's Church and into Lowndes Park just in time to catch a band dismantling their equipment after playing a concert for 2 hours.  Someone was calling my name - Michelle from book club.  After a quick chat, we went our separate ways and I walked along part of the River Chess.  This moorhen and its chicks were surprisingly blasé about the people walking by and didn't mind me taking photos of them either.  A tranquil sight on a beautiful evening.


PS:  I've also included an extra photo of some pretty flowers growing alongside one of the paths into the churchyard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.