Birthday Party

Six years, 2190 blips and no passes. Where on earth has the time gone and where did the addiction come from?
I never envisaged this sort of time scale when I so casually blipped with my phone a blurry looking plate of mussels at a family meal on July 24th 2009.

When I posted that first blip, it felt I had joined the population of a small village where all the people were known and the village head man, Joe, and his advisers were in charge and there to be consulted personally. There was a village shop too, where it was possible to buy T-shirts , Blipfoto name cards, books and calendars. It felt a very safe and friendly community.

Six years on, and the village has grown to become a huge faceless metropolis with a global population but no shops and no leaders. Joe and his team have gone awol.
I liken it to one of those refugee boats set adrift on the Mediterranean with no captain or crew, drifting along in the hope of finding a safe haven before it sinks with the loss of all blips.

However today is not the time for pessimism- it's birthday time and I am inviting you to the party. His Lordship has gone out for the day, the door is open, so come away in, have a slice of cake and make yourselves at home.

I am refraining from reiterating my heartfelt appreciation of you, my commentators. That still goes without saying, but as for my eulogy of all things Blipfoto, this was done on the occasion of my 2000th blip in January, but before we were set adrift in March.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.