Old Tin Barn

Shades of Derelict Thursday here, and I could have blipped this at any time as it is beautiful in its way.  With the theme of 'Landscape' for Wide angle Wednesday (widwed21) I decided to get out and 'do it'!  Although it has been here for a very long time and has clearly not been used for quite a few years, it is destined to fall under the developers destruction very soon.  It is part of a stretch of countryside currently undergoing the change towards more roads and houses - a year from now the picture will be very different - probably only a few weeks or months from now in reality.  

This field is the opposite side of the road to a tree I blipped back at the end of May.  The sheep have now been moved out, the oats will soon be harvested (probably for the last time ever), the last hay has been mown and the developers diggers are close at hand.  Makes me want to weep with frustration.  This area is not beautiful, you'd never say 'Wow' and stop to take a 'snap', but it's been home to many wild creatures and has preserved a sense of countryside for us humans whilst we need to live near London but don't want to be urban! Maybe we are the hypocrites. 

I recently sang in a local performance of 'Elijah' and one chorus comes particularly to mind - The Harvest now is over.... Help Lord! I have found a link on youtube - go about four minutes in to get to the singing, although the orchestral introduction sets the tone.

A dramatic sky and some application of filters has made the scene more dramatic.  I'd better go and do something else before I get too morose!

Footnote:  I see that a year ago today I blipped the funeral of a great village person.  It is interesting that this coming Saturday is the Farm Sale when all the contents of his farm will be up for auction...more history gone! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.