My Country

Today, I met my mum and dad in Leeds for lunch.  Before that though, we headed to have a look at one of The Photographic Angle's temporary exhibitions in Leeds called My Country.  A few months ago, on being inspired by Earthdreamer's submissions to Viewpoint and his subsequent acceptance, I dared to have a go.  Not being very good at dealing with failure, I kept it to myself but was really pleased to discover a few weeks ago that I'd had a few images accepted. 

I wasn't sure whether they'd made a mistake though as, after completing the bit about me they'd requested, I heard nothing from them.  On the website, they talk about trying to show something from each photographer at each location but Leeds was not my lucky venue.  My name and Planet Feeling profile does, however, feature on the exhibitor's list so that still made my day.  It's real!

My dad attempted to traumatise the girl on the gallery desk that he'd come all the way from the United States but his Yorkshire accent luckily failed to convince the poor girl!  That was not the first of the chuckles from the day and neither was it the last.  We still really enjoyed the exhibition and I do think it's great how they use empty offices to display the images - the open plan space works really well and I shall now be keeping an eye out for others.

We had lunch around the corner and spent a good few hours having a natter and plenty more laughs before going our separate ways.

It's been a lovely day which finished with an evening walk around the Cow & Calf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.