A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Eclectic mix.

Nice usual early Thursday walk but apart from a lot of people on the golf course at 8.00am nothing really exciting except Corinthian Column. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2070832659541525909 actually saw a fisherman catch a fish!

Needed to do a bit of shopping as daughter Grace and son in law John are coming en route to Scotland tomorrow, also son Alex has managed to get himself a long weekend. The plan is to have a BBQ (by request) so I hope the weather is fine!

I had completely forgotten it was Bingley show this weekend till I saw the directional signs for horse boxes etc. This one made me smile though as the no doubt esteemed members who get to go in the main entrance will be accompanied by the goats, cattle and sheep!

This used to be a real agricultural show, like many others in the area, on a Wednesday in August. I remember going with my friend form the from across and washing Heifers with OMO! We also had to practice walking than on a halter and lead ready for whoever was taking them onto the show ring. I think the main attraction for the farmers though was the beer tent. I can remember seeing one swaying!

Just an aside. It is obviously school holidays as many dads are taking their kids around the shops. It was part of our discussion on yesterday's moorland walk that some of them weren't coping too well.
As I walked around the fruit and veg stalls today I heard this chap saying to his son. 'Don't say that' to the retort 'Why?'. Dad said 'Because it's annoying'
From that point on the child said 'Why' to everything dad said!
Don't you just love them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.