Colourful Optimism

"In Scotland, it will be breezy with scattered showers", the announcer on Classic FM says after having told us smugly that there is summer weather further south.
In my humble opinion it's particularly windy with random downpours-I swear people are still wearing their winter coats.

I fear that the owner of this café near the canal was being ridiculously optimistic about enticing people to sit and pay to get wet.

Fortunately my café by the canal was under cover and a welcome refuge in which to meet a cycling friend.
My smugness at having spent 45 aerobic minutes in the gym this morning soon evaporated as she described her very recent walking holiday round MontBlanc in which she walked over 100 miles and ascended 33,000feet by road in a 13 day trip.

I could only admire her stamina, and the huge slice of carrot cake she felt she deserved this morning. Nil solid by mouth for me to accompany my coffee.
O happy days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.