' Scotland Can Make It'

Well, well you guys did me proud yesterday, and I want to thank you all for your kind comments on the birthday blip.
Were I not a terrible cynic, I might have believed them and had my head turned, as they say colloquially, but despite that, a huge appreciation on my part for taking the time to comment.
Now it's back to cold reality, and a new blip day.

Since the opening ceremony for the Commonwealth games starts tonight, I thought I would blip my souvenir, the Golden Tenement key ring, bought, not given as you might have thought, from the limited edition of souvenirs commissioned by Glasgow daughter for Panel, her business for promoting Scottish manufactured goods.

It commemorates the contentious eviction of a homeowner and the demolition of a property at 10 Ardenlea Street, Dalmarnock in Glasgow to make way for the Commonwealth Games Village, and at the same time it celebrates an iconic Scottish building type.

The glimpse of a Tunnocks Tea cake pictured in the invite to the opening, illustrates another souvenir, commissioned from Tunnocks who have produced packs of 6 teacakes wrapped in the colours of the medals- gold, silver and bronze.
I don't know why I didn't invest in one of those packs. With any luck, I'll fall heir to one of them if they don't all fly off the shelf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.