The Response

Two workmen arrived at 9.30 am to sort out my driveway.  First of all they removed all the weeds - and there were a lot.  Then they jet washed it.  A very noisy business.   (I got a bit worried that my neighbours would not be keen on the noise on a Sunday morning but it couldn't be helped. ) Then they re- sanded between the bricks and finally sealed everything.  They didn't finish until 1pm.  It wasn't cheap but it was money well spent as the drive now looks as good as the day it was originally laid.  My extra shot is a collage showing 2 before shots and 2 after shots.

I quickly got ready and dashed out to get the bus at 1.14pm to go to Newcastle.  Another walk organised by the City Guides.  This one was called " Lest We Forget ".  Only around 15 people turned up this week and there were 2 guides.   We found out about Newcastle in times of conflict and looked at various  war memorials.

My blip shot is The Renwick Memorial or The Response, which is considered to be one of the finest of its kind in the country and is Grade II listed. It was given to the city of Newcastle by Sir George Renwick in 1923. The main reason the memorial was commissioned was that the Renwicks were grateful that their 5 sons who went off to fight in the First World War all returned safe and sound and they wanted to do something to commemorate that.  The sculpture depicts soldiers marching off to war watched by an angel while women and children bid them farewell.  The faces of the soldiers aren't from the sculptors imagination - he modelled each one from identity papers of actual soldiers which I think is unusual.  Its a monument you could spend a long time looking at.

It was a very interesting tour and the guide was excellent.  I had actually met her before as she used to go to my slimming group but I didn't know she was a City Guide,.

The weather was very chilly but luckily it kept dry until just after the walk had finished.  By the time I had been to Waitrose and made my way to the bus stop it was raining very heavily and it has rained all evening. 

Neil was here when I got home so I made tea for us both.  He had brought a bag of washing so I did that for him.   Just had a quiet evening watching TV.

Steps today - 8,867

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.