TEENY TINY LADYBIRD

This tiny ladybird might be a 14-spot ladybird. At 3mm it's half the size of seven-spot and harlequin ladybirds. The14 spot variety often have rectangular spots. They may be yellow with black spots, or black with yellow spots.

I found this tiny creature on my kitchen floor and carefully laid it on the kitchen bench to take a photo.  I was quick as I expected it to move around.  It didn't.  I think it was dead.  However I did put it outdoors just in case it wasn't.  Thanks to  60plus for hosting the Tiny Tuesday challenge this week.

I got up early this morning as I was expecting a delivery.  The parcel came around 11.30 am.  It cotained cat food, cat litter,wild bird food and a Feliway diffuser plug in.

I decided to get the Feliway to try and calm Tino a little bit as he sometimes gets rather nasty with little Lily and bites her.  I have had Feliway before but this one is a new kind especially to reduce tension and conflicts between cats. It emits a synthetic copy of the pheromone which is naturally produced by the mother cat after giving birth to her kittens and maintains the bond between mother and kittens.  The pheromone has been shown to have the same bonding effect on adult cats living in multi cat environments. It wasn't cheap and only lasts 30 days but I hope I see some improvement over that time. 

So I had to find somewhere to plug the diffuser in.  Not easy here.  There is a lack of sockets - and the ones there are are not in the places you want them.  I thought the dining room would be the best place to put the diffuser as Tino and Lily tend to sleep there in the evening.  However the socket is behind a large bookcasewhich has an extension lead coming from it into which a few appliances are plugged in. You aren't allowed to plug the diffuser into an extension socket so I decided to empty the book case and move it somewhere else to allow the diffuser to go into the wall socket.  Took a while to empty and I did take the opportunity to get rid of some of the things on it - not books though.  Big problem when I moved the bookcase - only space for one plug in the socket - I had assumed it would be a double one.  Needed the socket for the extension lead so the bookcase went back and was filled up again.  I had a re-think and decided to put the diffuser in the lounge - its not in an ideal location but Tino and Lily sometimes  sleep there in the daytime so it might be Ok.  Had to move furniture around here too and find different places to put things. 

So I spent rather more time than I wanted to on a simple job and ended up going out late in the day. I walked down to the village and got the bus to Asda.  Did a bit of shopping, then the bus to The Metrocentre and another bus home.  I met up with a couple of neighbours on the bus.  Ron and Cath who live next door but one.  I have lived near them for 32 years but I have known them a lot longer as their daughter Christine was a schoolfriend from the age of 5.  Sadly Christine died 7 years ago.  Ron is 90 and Cath is 88 - I can't say they are " going strong " as they are both very frail but they still get out and about regularly.  It was lovely to have a catch up.

Steps today - 9,287

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.