Holland On Sea and beyond

This morning Ralph and I walked along the sea front in Holland on Sea - in the opposite direction from yesterday's walk to Clacton pier - until we arrived at his Dad's beach hut where we had a cup of tea and paddled in the freezing North Sea  - something I haven't done since childhood.  Intermittent cloud meant it kept changing from breezy and cold to almost uncomfortably hot and sunny - especially so on the sheltered beach.  Walking back made a round trip of just over 3 miles when we collected his Dad (Frank) and went for fish and chips.  Doesn't get more Brit-by-the-sea than that.  Loved it. 

Today would have been my Dad's 86th birthday and in view of how I spent the day, have chosen as an 'extra', this pic of him in or around 1935 - I think it is the beach at Margate, but am not sure.  Love you Dad,  and miss you every day.  Happy Birthday. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.