Flowers

A good night's sleep last night, even although I surfed till nearly 2.  Said good bye to #3 son, off to Oldham and then to Lake Garda.  

I had a lovely long Skype with the family.  Olivia couldn't sit still and was having to be held down.  She waves and blows bubbles and sticks her tongue out at me, almost singing.  

The weather did not do what we were told it was going to do.  i had a plan for that, so go and be cultural down the town but it was almost sunny!  So after the ironing it was out to finish taming the clematis. Gave it quite a good hack.  Really I need to cut it back completely and retain it.  next year.  However, it is round the corner and on the fence.  That will look good next year. 

After that I hauled out some more weeds while listening to 'Heart of Midlothian' on R4.  It's been a joy listening to Walter Scott's plays being dramatised with David Tennant as the narrator.  This one of course is about Jeannie Deans, Dumbiedykes and Salisbury Crags.  

This border looks as if it was planned.  It wasn't.  The marigolds self seeded from last year and I left them.  Despite the lack of sun and the almost non stop rain (it has arrived now, if later than forecast) the garden is looking really good.  I'm working out what needs chopped and moved for next year.

Then on the radio I heard the sad news about Cilla Black.  I suppose it's inevitable that people I grew up with and have been around forever will start to go.  We aren't getting any younger.  But she was only 10 years older than me.  It will be sad for her family.  

Maybe time to take stock and decide what the priorities are.

And then I heard 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.