There's been a murder! almost

I got a call from the alarm monitoring company this morning.  I thought that #2 son had left his window open and the curtains had flapped.  

Got on with the rest of the day, interviewing part 2 for Christmas and decisions made. Then catching up with a few things and home with the sun still shining.  How amazing is that?

But then there was suspicious signs in the kitchen, bird feathers and behind the bin a young blackbird, so it was flapping bird and not flapping curtains that triggered the alarm.  I managed to get the bird out but the culprit was lurking around so I distracted her with cat food, the tinned kind.  A wee bit later she was out in the border and the bird was in the rosemary bush.  Once agian got Molly in and although she was desperate to get out that wasn't happening.  Then the next time I looked there was Barclay from next door in the garden terrorsing the bird.  Scared her off and managed to get the bird into my show box and I took it over the road to the relative safety of a neighbour's hedge.  I'm not sure it will survive but I did what I could.  by this time Molly had lost interest and is back to her usual calm self.  She does stand guard over the SW corner of the garden though as that is where the other cats come and go.

I had a walk tonight, round the park and the loop of the next street.  

We've been researching my grandfather's WW1 service.  He won the MM in the Battle of Arras, in April 1917.  Watched a really interesting NZ film I found online about the New Zealanders who dug the tunnels under Arras. I've visited some of them as my French family on my mother's side live in Arras.  You can see the film here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.