An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Vintage Chic...

Backblip

It's a friend's daughter's 21st this Saturday and I've been thinking hard about what she might like as a gift.  Since she's the girl who already has everything, it's not been easy.

Then I thought about a vintage handbag.  I had it in the back of my mind that she liked vintage stuff and her mum confirmed that she does, so the task for today was to go to the Arts & Antiques Centre in Doune to try and find an appropriate vintage bag.

We were just leaving when I got a text from Agnes to say her and Adrian were in the vicinity and would pop in if we were free.  Told her our plans and they changed theirs and said they'd meet us in Doune.  A lovely unexpected twist to the afternoon.

When we got there, Agnes and I left the guys to browse at whatever they wanted to browse and we set off on a mission to find a handbag.  I didn't hold out much hope as you never find what you're looking for when it's something specific do you, but lo and behold, within 10 minutes I'd seen a cute little grey bag circa 1965.  The outside was immaculate but the inside was a little tatty but not bad for 50 years old!

Kept a hold of it and kept wandering and a few minutes later found the bag in my blip.  A 1959/60 elbief framed cream leather Kelly bag with camel suede interior, in fantastic condition.  It was a no brainer and the grey bag was put back where we found it.   

As we continued wandering, I spotted the scarf (also blipped).  It's Italian and the same age as the bag (not silk though, that would have been well out of my price range) and cost the grand sum of £12.  Bargain!  I thought it would finish off the gift perfectly.

I'm really chuffed I got exactly what I was looking for and it will be a wrench to hand them over because I've fallen completely in love with both.  Hope she likes them :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.