The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Making Friends

Someone far wiser than me once said that facebook was for all the people you were in school with and twitter was for all the people you wished you were in school with ...

This is true. I have made some awesome friends through the use of social media over the past few years, there were two tables of just our twitter friends at our wedding, one pair of guests we hadn't even met until the day!

We are back up in Lincolnshire for a few days as it is Dawn's dads 65th birthday at the weekend, but we decided to break the journey up by stopping off at Gardeners World Live at the NEC. One of the main reasons for going was to meet up with my twitter friend Kate Macrae.

Kate runs an amazing wildlife website called Wildlife Kate which I urge you to look at if you are into Springwatch and their webcams! Its been brilliant fun watching her hobby growing into a business and culminating (to this point!) with appearances on Springwatch last week, Gardeners World tomorrow night, and a stand at the annual show. It was funnier how I related to a lot of what she had said to me about the past few weeks as to how my dad's media career unfolded all those years ago, it's a cloud of mild bewilderment and great fun! Kate is the epitome of Samuel Goldwyn's famous quote: "The harder I work .. the luckier I get ..

I love meeting new people and even more when they are twitter people, Kate is another one who is a lovely in real life as she is as 140 characters and a small picture. I am inanely jealous of her garden and it's set up with all the webcams, one day I will follow in her footsteps, but until then you will have to put up with the tales of my back garden on this blip feed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.