TINY TUESDAY - LUCILIA SERICATA.....

…..or common greenbottle fly - that’s according to Mr. HCB’S Complete British Wildlife book - and he is pretty good at identifying insects.  When you give them their proper name, they don’t sound quite so nasty, and if you look here you will find out more about them - and they are not as bad as we think. 

For once, I wasn’t out in the garden this morning in my pink robe and slippers - and before you worry that I have completely lost it and was out there naked, fret not - I am having a Skype session with my friend, Yvonne, at 10.00 a.m. and thought it would be rude to still be wearing my pink robe at that time!

Mr. HCB has been out in the garden since 6.30 he tells me - but 8.00 a.m. was quite early enough for me to wander around looking for something for the Tiny Tuesday challenge.  I had taken over 40 photographs when I spied this little critter on a bud and was amazed that it stayed so long.  I never realised that flies were so hairy and actually, the bud is quite hairy too!

So, challenge done and now time to go and have breakfast before Yvonne Skypes me - actually I am quite pleased to be indoors as it is quite chilly out in the garden this morning, the sky is very grey and it doesn’t look too promising - so perhaps Mr. HCB and I will manage to go out later - or he may even want to finish his jigsaw puzzle.

The role of the
     infinitely small
          in nature
               is infinitely great.
Louis Pasteur
1822-1895

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.