MONO MONDAY - AUGUST CHALLENGE

I am only up at silly o’clock because I wanted to take a photograph of the supermoon for the Mono Monday August challenge so here it is taken at just past midnight.

Apparently, tonight’s (or this morning’s for me) supermoon is closer to the earth than it has been in over twenty years, and is 14% bigger and 30% brighter than usual.

This one is the second in a trio of supermoons this summer, with one having happened on 12 July and the next one due to appear on 9 September. To have three in such close proximity is very rare and it is not expected that this will happen again until 2034 - I might still be around, but just in case I’m not, enjoy this one.

“The moon does not fight.
It attacks no one.
It does not worry.
It does not try to crush others.
It keeps to its course,
but by its very nature,
it gently influences.
What other body
could pull an entire ocean
from shore to shore?
The moon is faithful to its nature
and its power is never diminished.”
Deng Ming-Dao


I hope you will also enjoy "Song to the Moon" composed by Dvorak, one of my favourite composers, and sung by Frederica von Stade.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.