A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

The big pathwatch

Today was the day to walk our square for the Ramblers Association big pathwatch.

I was alerted to this by Paula J a few days ago and thought it was an excellent idea. Initially it seemed like something our walking group could do but having adopted my first square (a square mile centred on the village of Harden where I live), decided it was a bit too bitty.

You have to walk all the green highlighted paths on the Ordnance survey map that fall into your square mile. Obviously these aren't entire walks so you have to dot around a bit.

So Chris and I set off on a glorious morning and did as many as we could. Most of them were in the St.Ives Estate which is predominantly woodland. Most of the paths were very familiar but some bits we rarely walk. Here you see the road through the estate which is also indicated as a path way so walk it we did. I took this as I like the dappled light and the colour of the horse riders' high vis jackets.

After leaving St Ives we did a little more walking on the paths above Moor Edge into the woods at Deepcliffe before returning on yet more routes back into the village. Just over 3 miles in total. There is just a little bit that I have missed at the top of the village so I will do that soon on a visit to my son's house.

The aim is to cover the country and check that published footpaths are accessible and in good condition as well as highlight some of the interesting features along the way.

All in all I think we are very lucky to have so many routes to choose from within our village and locality.
Hopefully we will do more squares soon.

If you are interested there is a link here: http://www.ramblers.org.uk/bigpathwatch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.