a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Harvest Sunset

There's no official Wide Angle Wednesday challenge at the moment, as Hobbs is resting it.  Familiarity breeds contempt and all that.  I've enjoyed the learning process that it introduced so much that its hard not to think in terms of wide angle shots on a Wednesday.  I'm clearly far too much a creature of habit for my own good.  JDO set a landscape challenge a while ago during her tenure organising the challenge and I've been meaning to have another go at it.

As I set out to play with my ND filter (a relatively recent addition) and to try to capture a sunset this evening I was tempted to stop and blip the local farmers frantically trying to get in their wheat harvest.  It has looked ready for a while now, and we are forecast some very heavy rain all day tomorrow (and possibly some thunderstorms too), so I can understand their anxiety.  They were still working by artificial light at well gone 9pm this evening and sunset was around 8:30pm.  As I sit and type this the sky is clouding over and I am not at all sure that we are going to be able to see the Perseids this far South West.

Unfortunately it wasn't the most spectacular of sunsets, but I hope it appeals all the same.  Many thanks to those of you that liked yesterday's blip of my old favourite Jimminy Cricket, its been an interesting summer watching the crickets grow and mature - not something that would ever have occurred to me in my pre-blip days!

LATER:

As an experiment, I've added as an extra a mono version of the same landscape, taken a few minutes later, with a different exposure and not cropped.  I would be interested in your views on which you prefer and why.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.