There's a moose in the hoose

Amber and Lucas (two students) rescued this wee mite from a couple of boys this morning. The boys had bought it to torture it with the intention of finally killing it (if it didn't die of shock first). Amber decided that this was most definitely NOT on and relieved the boys of their charge. They are planning to keep it. However, (and sorry if you read this before I get a chance to see you Canterbury) I have said that if their parents won't let them keep it, I'll take it.

I used to keep mice and hamsters as a kid and in my 20s. I love them to bits. Cousteau would be interested but I don't think he'd be a problem.

What really gets me is how people can do that to a poor defenceless creature. Is it some kind of power trip? If so, how incredibly sad that people need to lord themselves over a MOUSE of all things! How does that make you feel big and clever?

We had an incident a few weeks ago where a bird was tortured by some students. Pretty much every school I've worked in has had issues like that from time to time. It's enough to make me feel sick. I am an animal lover and can't bear to think of some small minded idiot treating them with anything less than the respect they deserve.

Phew, sorry. Ranted a bit there, eh?

But with reason, I believe. I'm just glad that our students spotted what was going on and had the guts to intervene.

I've been given some courgette plants today. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.