pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Scout Jamboree

This rucksack bursting at the seams and piled up on the bed with a sleeping bag, pillows and a couple of books(don't know when he thinks he'll get time to read them!) is a sure sign my husband is deserting me YET AGAIN! But I suppose I can let him off this time.

It will his last time as Scout Leader for 1st Linton Scout Troop, where they will be joining in a big camp in Huntingdon. He plans to leave here early tomorrow to go to Linton to collect kit before heading to Huntingdon. Henry will go with him. Today he has done a boot full of food shopping to get his group through the first few days, with more shopping planned during the week.

My day has been relatively normal. I felt a bit fed up for no reason really, so was glad to get home early. I have been to do food shopping for just 3 of us and now I'm sitting down with wine & chocolate. I do need to diet but things are still too unsettled....well that's the excuse I'm using!

Tonight in Morrisons I was chatting to the lady on the till about the dreadful weather we had had in the Isle of Wight, and caught myself saying it was nice to come 'home'. As i got in the car I found myself thinking how happy I am that this is my home. How long do you have to live somewhere to 'come from there'?I guess I'll always have 'come from' Hoddesdon - but I'm feeling proud that I have some Norfolk roots, thanks to my lovely old Nanna who was a Ketteringham and born in Norwich. How she would smile if she could see us now, living just a stones throw from her brother Sidney's house in Matlaske, somewhere I vividly remember visiting as a little girl.

Tomorrow I plan a lie in until at least 7, then need to price up my car boot stuff ready for Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.