All Change Again

Sleep? What's that? I fell into my lovely comfy bed at around 1am, and proceeded to have a fitful nights sleep, waking often feeling hay fevery. I haven't had any of that while I was away.

I eventually got up at 7.30 to a very dull cloudy day. The first thing I did was took a walk around the garden to see what had flowered while I was away. I bet everyone does that when they get back? It is exciting....a bit like Christmas finding new things you'd forgotten about, just appearing. Well my presents were several new dahlias, which I had bought for £1 in the garden centre sale last autumn. They are gorgeous (although all around them is a little overgrown with weeds)

Anyway, more on my garden later in the week. Chicks have grown, and everything has been looked after beautifully by our house/animal sitters. Clean, (probably cleaner than when I left it) beds changed and sheets washed. I am ever so grateful.

Ideally (which is what I had planned when I booked the holiday and annual leave from work) today would have been spent unpacking, washing, sorting....even a bit of relaxing. WRONG. At 9 ish, after a brief hello to mum & dad, who had driven up yesterday, Jon, Daniel & I got back into the car with a boot load of Dan's stuff, and headed for a tiny village called Alrewas, just north of Lichfield. He starts a one year placement at a french company based in Fradley (another close village) tomorrow. He will be involved in health and safety. He managed to get the last (tiny) room available in this shared house -right next to the A38. He has his bike, so plans to cycle to work. One of the other girls in the house also works there, and she is French, so hopefully he will make a friend.

So we left him, after doing an Asda shop to get him started, to unpack and settle. It is a really long way from our house, over 3 & a half hours driving if we don't stop for a break. As usual Jon is driving, so on the back of a 600 mile drive yesterday, he's done another 350+ miles today.

We got back at 6.30, to find Mollie had done dinner, and a pile of washing. I've started sorting my bag, but the rest will have to wait until after work tomorrow. Jon will be off so he can get a few loads of washing on.

Just enjoying my first bit of the olympics, especially pleased to see the men's pommel horse final, with Max Whitlock getting gold! Now some cycling before I get an early night.

Tomorrow back to work. And I really am looking forward to it.

Feeling happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.