In Tom Hanks' footsteps...

I had no idea when I booked this tiny campsite, just outside Edinburgh, that it was situated next to such a significant historical place. I'll explain later...

We woke early to torrential rain. I looked at the clock. 6, 7, 8 & it wasn't letting up. I glanced out of the window, and small rivulets of water were skirting our perimeter. I was worried about Henry or his stuff getting wet. He is sleeping in the awning, but it was ok. The rain eased at about 9.30. We knew the weather was due to be poor, so had planned food shopping and a trip to Ikea (5 mins drive from here) so that's what we did after a late leisurely breakfast.

Ikea was ok, Asda was as all food shops. The morning became afternoon and the rain stopped. After trawling a hundred 'where to go' leaflets, we decided just to wander down to Rosslyn Chapel, basically next-door to our campsite.

Two adults £18. Mollie was a child today. And we were so glad we went. Full of visitors, we just caught the talk in the main chapel. The carving EVERYWHERE is incredible. Built in the 15th century, I have never seen so much carving in one small church. My photo shows the steps going down to the crypt, steps Tom Hanks and his female co-star walked down in the filming of The Da Vinci Code. Having only watched the film a week before we came away, TOTALLY unaware of it's link to our holiday destination we are now keen to watch it again....or at least the end bit featuring the chapel!!!

Tonight I'm cooking pizza. Well, putting small Morrisons pizza in the oven, there isn't much cooking involved. Then more games. We won at Pandemic last night;it was one of our best wins, eradicating two diseases. So perhaps scrabble, or cards tonight. I'm avoiding the 'M' word...

Tomorrow back to Edinburgh, in search of sun and more historical buildings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.