Photographing Edinburgh

Last night we all slept very little due to at least 4 hours of torrential rain again. Unfortunately it brought Henry's bedroom down at 1am, 2am and 2.45am, at which point Jon swore a lot, and I edged Mollie over so that Henry could fit on next to her. I correct myself, 3 of us were up and down all night. Mollie slept through it!

At 8, I woke to beautiful sunshine, and bleary eyed I took myself off to the showers. Jon meanwhile looked at the awning, and bailed out Henrys bedroom. 3 days worth of dirty clothes were on the floor, swimming in the rainwater. I'll say no more!

After breakfast we drove to the park and ride, then caught the bus into the city. Mollie has already been to Edinburgh this year, and when here visited the castle. She wanted to go clothes shopping, so she did that while we spent about 2 & a half hours in the castle (with about half the continent of Asia, it seemed). Interesting, but very busy. Lots of queuing, but an expensive place to visit, so we had to see it all. The views are amazing, but of course a photo doesn't reflect that. Nonetheless I took lots of photos with my real camera, and Henry took this of me, with my phone.

The rest of the day was spent walking, dipping in and out of gift shops. Enjoying the fringe street snippets of their shows. Still lots of crowds, which Jon in particular doesn't like. We will go back in, but may split up next time.

We found the right bus to get home, and then once back at our car, took a long drive back across the city to find a 'Go Outdoors' to buy super heavy duty pegs.....last night had a slight feel of the Isle of Wight holiday about it. But at least our caravan isn't taking off!

On our way home we treated ourselves to a proper Chinese takeaway and Mollie and I dished up, while Jon and H fixed the awning. It must have been windy while we were out today, as both main poles that fix to the caravan had come down. Our awning looked very sorry for itself! Anyway, all fixed now, and sleeping arrangements rejigged so that the kids get a single bed each, and we go back into Mollie's double. We can cope, us nomadic types....the holiday must go on!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.