WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

A bump in the road

I'd been planning to spend a happy few hours on creative coding today. But when I sat down at the computer, I foolishly agreed to an "essential security update". Result, it installed the update, shut down, and wouldn't boot up again. I went swimming hoping it would fix itself in the meantime, but it didn't. So having tried all the usual remedies, I thought, "Never mind, I'll just restore from Time Machine." Four hours later, it reached 60% complete and then announced "Restore successful!" and rebooted. Not surprisingly 60% of the files were not enough to permit it to reboot, it was dead as a dodo. Fast forward several more hours of cursing and attempts to resuscitate it. It's now reinstalling OSX, and claims optimistically that it will take a further 56 hours to download gigabytes of data from Apple. Sigh.

Earlier, the espresso machine had blocked up while I was making coffee for breakfast, so I decided to descale it. It was still blocked, and unbeknown to me it instead leaked a large pool of descaling fluid over the marble worktop underneath. Result, one permanently scarred worktop. Double sigh.

So I got out my old white Macbook which does more or less work, but I couldn't face another two hours downloading the course software onto it. Instead I watched an interesting video about trigonometry for designers. It's well worth watching, particularly for the amazing trick at the end.

Late in the afternoon I was definitely in need of fresh air, so I went out for a short walk. I saw a sundog for the second day running but they are not easy to photograph. This computer doesn't have Lightroom on it, so no fancy mono conversions today -- I just played around with it in Snapseed. Colour version in the extra for comparison.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.