Sword Swallower

I had today off.  It has become a tradition that BB and I go into Edinburgh on the day before he starts back at school.  First up, I had to return something to a well known store, then we wandered to the dentist – where we both had check-ups.  All good.  BB didn’t want a sticker – he told me later he is too old for stickers!

Next stop was the Book Festival.  We didn’t have tickets for anything, so the books shops were the main interest.  BB left with a couple of interesting books, as did I.  We then moved on to the West End Craft Fair – for a quick zoom round.  This is when the rain started.  I had planned to buy some sandwiches and have a picnic in the sunshine, but that wasn’t to be due to the dampness, so BB requested one of his favourite cafes, and we were very lucky to get a seat.

We were then off to The Pleasance for a show – The Falcon’s Malteser.  BB laughed all the way through it – as did I.  It was very funny and very well acted.  We emerged into the rain and wandered up the Royal Mile and got wet watching some street perfomers.

Finally we were back down to Princes St and Jenners Toy Department. BB had worn me down (not in a bad way!) and I gave in and bought him a small Lego set.  He was absolutely delighted. 

We met TT on the train home and BB got stuck into one of his new books.  After a quick turnaround, the boys were off to football training and I went out for a run/walk – with more running than walking – all in the rain.

I then sat down and rather mindlessly watched a programme about Sean Connery.  I haven’t watched much on TV for ages – so it was nice to relax with something that required no thought.

Here is a sword swallower that we watched in the rain.  The extra is a guy who walked past as we had lunch – taken through the café window. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.