La Mirada

I am still "in the middle" on this painting. My teacher Trish always asks us where we are as we paint. The beginning is laying down the passages of light and dark and the initial shapes. It is not a long stage usually and ends when you've got the canvas covered and the passages and composition are in place. Then you paint. And that is "in the middle." That can last for a long time or be very quick depending on the size of the painting and whether you are painting outside and want to catch the painting quickly or are in the studio as I am with this painting. 

I'm still working on the laying down of paint. Each time I work on the painting I look for "the elephant in the room," as Trish calls it, and work starting there. Today I moved from the table legs, the colors and  values in the patio, the birds and table top to the left hand side and the curtains. 

I think while I was working another elephant snuck into the room and tomorrow during open studio I will work on banishing it. (Can you guess where it is sitting?) ... For me it is the figure, which went from okay to not so great. The shapes are wrong now. So I can be sure Trish will notice it tomorrow and give me suggestions for improvement. Phew. I appreciate those suggestions as figures are not my strongest subject. (And I don't mean math which I'm actually pretty good at.) Ha ha.

As you might guess I worked on my painting today. I also worked a few days ago and I'll post the end of that session on my extra photo.

And the good news is that I'm not grumpy anymore. I've thought through what I have to do to start correcting a situation that isn't working for me. I don't really think it is best for the other person involved as it is either, but I am the one who can begin the process of changing things. So I just need to take the first steps when I get the right moment. It is a delicate situation so I'll need my best diplomatic and caring skills to help make the needed change happen. I don't think it will be fast but it is necessary. If and when I can give you more details I will. Meanwhile, though I didn't get enough sleep last night as you probably guessed, I am in an optimistic mood this morning. For me that is my usual normal so I'm feeling good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.