Life needs a little contrast.

Dear Diary,

My Rose of Sharon is blooming and just in time too.  I really wanted the rudbeckia to be in bloom at the same time, for the lovely contrast to the blue.  Both life and gardens need a bit of contrast I find.

I could use a bit of weather contrast just now.  This is the fourth day of oppressive heat and humidity.  A lovely cool, rainy day is just what we all need.  Contrast refreshes the spirit.

Usually, my summers are full of travel but this year I've stayed at home and that is a really contrast for me.  I've found I love the quiet daily routine.  I have a small trip to Dutchess County, New York planned for late September and by then I think I will welcome the contrast of new places and faces.

Life offers us something new every day, even if we never venture too far from our own yards.  I think that people who say they are bored have lost the ability to see what is happening all around them.  As I am writing this I am watching Gaylord dangle from the maple tree branch munching on seeds.  I'd never seen him do that before.  A blue flower amid the yellow, a grey squirrel in the green leaves, a green feathered hummingbird on the orange trumpet flowers...contrast abounds!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.