Good Day/Bad Day

The first part of today was terrific because my sister came to see me!  We don't get enough sister time so it was a real treat.  The main purpose was to help me choose a floor for my kitchen.  The floor guy also came over again to give me a few more things to think about and I think I have finally made my decision, for better or worse.  My sister and I also went to lunch at the Thai restaurant in the village and afterwards looked in a few shops.  Finally, we had tea and cake in the garden at home, with Dolly happily curled up between us while we sat on the swing.  

Awhile after my sister left I took Dolly on an early evening walk and we went along one of our favourite local lakes.  About 10 min into the walk we stopped so I could look at the view and take a few pictures.  All of a sudden I realised that something wasn't right with Dolly.  She was staggering and started leaning and falling, almost into the lake.  I got down close to her and she seemed to not be able to stand or walk.  I scooped her up and she clung to me as I quickly walked back to the car with her in my arms, praying the whole way.  A couple of times I put her down to see if she could walk.  She was able to stand but she wouldn't move. She didn't look happy.  I was afraid she'd had a stroke.  When we got to the car she immediately fell asleep in her little bed.  When we got home I put her in front of her water bowl and she drank quite a bit and then finally walked very slowly to her bed and curled up.  I moved her to the sofa so I could keep an eye on her while she rested.  This is the picture of her not long after we got home.  Whenever she's on the sofa, she always makes sure she's next to Andre the seal, so I made sure he was close by! 

After an hour or so she woke up, hopped off the sofa, ate some food and hopped back on the sofa as if nothing was wrong!  I decided to go to bed early and she was happy to run up the stairs as she always does, although she was very eager to immediately crawl into her bed upstairs.  I was still quite concerned and went to bed planning to take her to the vet in the morning.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.