Welcome to my world

Before I left on my run the eastern sky was a deep red colour, which faded through to this apricot colour in the first 15 minutes that I was out on the roads. Almost a cloudless sky, and one consequence of that was the first frost of the winter. Nothing like the South Island frosts; nevertheless, and unusual occurrence this far north.

Coming along the main road along the peninsula I pass a paddock in which this fellow and his mates are usually seen. This one and a single companion were well away from the others and still lying down while the others grazed. As I approached, he got up and watched me, and when I stopped he sauntered over to the fence and gave me a pleasant look. I fancy it was a look of welcome.

The purple mass of Little Barrier Island is away in the background although further off and lying lower in the water is Great Barrier Island; larger in size, lower in height.

Off to wellington early tomorrow to do some assessments over the next two days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.