mambo

By mambo

Tis the season of school shoe fitting!

Funny how sometimes you are positively steered towards a certain blip. This has just happened to me.

I've seen on kagsy65 and ValC's recent blips the mention of Throwback Thursday and kept thinking I must do that one week. Thank you KangaZu for hosting this challenge.

Didn't have far to go as I am in the middle of sorting a box of stuff that has sentimental memories for me.
The first thing I picked up was one of these shoes and it didn't take long to locate the other.

Then out the blue Mr P mentioned that while he was fixing punctures on our Granddaughter's bikes at my daughter'house she had nipped into Ilkley to get the girls feet measured and they had got new school shoes. Then went on Blip to find the tag for this challenge and I saw that Chrissie had taken her Grandaughters for their feet measuring for new shoes.
My mind went straight back to taking my daughter for her first pair of shoes when she had just started walking, this must have been in 1978.

Money was very tight in those days but I was determined she would have the best shoes we could afford.

We went to Clinkards in Leeds and I can remember now how they measured her feet and brought out a selection of shoes. Those unsteady steps as she walked around the shop, how strange that must have felt after knowing nothing but bare feet.
Selection was quite limited compared to now but the Startrites won the day and they just had to be red.

My own Mum had passed away while I was pregnant with Rebecca and I thought I would never smile again but of course I did and the wearer of these shoes has brought me a lifetime of smiles,
I'm smiling now as I look at these scuffed toed little treasures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.