IT HAD STARTED ONCE

when I had found a stone on the beach of Roquebrune, at the Mediteranean Sea. There were simple linings in it and I had wondered if I could make a drawing of it. Not an easy challenge for me. I had the backs of big sheets of used calendars and I started. It was probably 2001 or 2002. And fine liners in all colours.
I made one drawing every day, and from the liners I went on with chalk.
Now here in the garage I have loads of big sheets with these drawings.
Since a while I had in mind to go through them and decide which ones I still liked. I could use the back of the discarded ones for a new project if I would have one.
The last year before we left Kamerik for our new home in Germany and The Hague, I took pictures and made disguised drawings of these pictures. And then it stopped as sudden as it had begon.
Now I want to show one drawing for the abstract challenge that youorgeon1 hostes for the pleasure of us all.

My haiku:

In retrospect I
See who I was at that time
Trying to survive

And the proverb:

To swallow a gudgeon

(= to be made a fool of)

1579  Lyly, Euphues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.