Day 5

My Country
I love a sunburnt country,
A land of sweeping plains,
Of ragged mountain ranges,
Of droughts and flooding rains,
I love her far horizons,
I love her jewel-sea,
Her beauty and her terror -
The wide brown land for me!

This is the most famous verse of Dorothea Mackellar's poem "My Country".  Today as we stood high above the Mighty Murray at the Headings Cliffs Lookout we were both reminded of the poem.  It was absolutely spectacular and we couldn't have asked for a better day to view the magnificent scene before us.  My extra image today is of the view as I turned and looked towards the west and another of a beautiful pelican that did a fly by as we stood on top of the lookout.  It's moments like these that send shivers down my spine.

We both agreed that this would be a very fitting image to post for my 700th blip.  I just love blipfoto and I love the connection I have with so many of you.  Long live blipfoto - that's what I say!!

The poem - My Country

Day 5.....Renmark to Headings Cliff Lookout and return......35km

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.