Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

From Caterpillar to Chrysalis

There was no debating what I was going to blip today - it had to be a monarch caterpillar going into its final stage before becoming a butterfly.  I missed this yesterday when # 3 changed, but luckily Cat #2 was in position to make the change today.  When I went out this morning, I took the cover off the enclosure, set up a tripod with the D600 and the Nikkor 105 mm lens and then I waited.  And waited.  And waited.  I made quick sorties around the garden, but never more than 10 minutes.

Finally, nearly 3 hours later, I saw that the cat's antennae were droopy which I'd been told was the signal that the change was about to occur.  Another 45 minutes, during which time I was poised with camera and cell phone...waiting.  Then, suddenly, I saw a small bit of green emerging from the head-end of the cat.  Within two minutes, the skin was shed and lying on the bottom of the enclosure and # 2 was a shiny chrysalis.  What an amazing thing to see!   I managed to video part of it on my cell phone and posted the video HERE on YouTube - only about 30 seconds.  And I posted a series of 4 shots, taken at various stages of the transformation starting HERE on Flickr.  

Cat # 1, who was the smallest, was at the top of the enclosure last night, but back down in the bottom eating again this morning.  When I just checked now, he is back at the top of the enclosure where I suspect he is going to stay.  He will probably change tomorrow.  

If everything I read is accurate, I should have the first Monarch in 10-12 days.  

So that is the big Monarch news for the day.  In other news...

Hubs and I had a wonderful dinner last night and watched the sun set over Tomahawk Lake.  

The hummingbirds are now in full frenzy, chasing anything that moves.  Today, one of them went ripping after a blue jay, which is the very definition of optimism.  

After a couple of days of 90 F, tomorrow is going to cool down - I plan to take advantage of it with an early outing.

The cats (four-legged ones) had an epic battle this morning ...and then several hours later were curled up not 4 feet from each other, fast asleep.  I wish I could get into their furry little heads and understand what they are thinking.  

Hoping you all have a good Thursday...

TTFN

Footnote:  About 12 days later when #3 tried to emerge from the chrysalis, it became apparent that he/she was not going to survive.  Sadly, it had to be euthanized.  Most likely, it had the OE spore larva which affect so many monarch butterflies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.