In Flagrante Delicto

I spent the day doing what I love do this time of year, exploring the wildlife at beautiful Black Hills Regional Park with my camera, where there were the usual butterflies, skippers and bees.  Even though all the meadow  flowers are past their prime, it still feels very much like midsummer, with temperatures soaring again well into the 90’s.  The weather is expected to break tomorrow, thank goodness,  just in time for our Labor Day holiday weekend. 

I got some great shots of a Green Heron who allowed me to get quite close for he was far more concerned with finding his lunch. I have loaded one of those shots, uncropped, into the extras along with a second shot of these very happy dragonflies.  I couldn’t resist posting this one as my blip…doesn’t she look like she  is smiling?   At least when they are like this, they stay still long enough to get off a few shots. When I tried to get a little closer, however, they clearly disliked this invasion of their privacy and they flew off, without separating.  

Today is my birthday….not a big deal anymore, since I have had a lot of them.  I have heard from all 4 sons and the grandchildren and even received two dozen roses from my youngest son.  My husband took me out for a delicious French dinner to celebrate and he surprised me with a wonderful gift…. which I will probably blip tomorrow.  All in all… it’s been a great day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.