Passing by

An hour or so in town (Sheffield) after I dropped Ann off at Weston Park hospital.  A quick visit to Pinders (art shop) and Redmans (stationary) and then across to the market to buy haddock for us and two fish, with heads, to draw.  I chose one mackerel and one red snapper (a name that always makes me think of Skiathos - but then that's another story). I also had tea and toasted fruit bread in Debenhams, but that was partly driven by the fact I desperately needed to find a loo.  It brought back memories of our trips home from Northumberland with mum when we always used to stop at the Gateshead Metro centre and head for Debenhams.  The toasted fruit bread was something of a ritual that went with the loo stop.  Coming out of the store I was struck by the number of people who were moving up and down The Moor and I wondered if I could capture some images that had a `feel' of movement.  I think I almost got there, though needed a RAW file to bring back the over-exposure.  I think I need a camera with a filter to block out some light if I try this again.
By the time I got back to the hospital at approx 11.30 , Ann had only just been taken into the day ward ready to start her treatment and we knew that she had to be observed for four more hours after the treatment was finished - so it was a long, long day.  We didn't leave until 6.30pm and I'd originally dropped her off at 9.30am.  
At least I was free to move around, well I needed to as my chair was so uncomfortable, and I decided to visit Weston Park museum where I'd never been - just down the road from the hospital.  They revamped it several years ago and the exhibition spaces are visually enticing with wide ranging exhibits about the history and natural history of the city.  My extra photo was taken in the gardens - I love the shape and maybe one day I might use it in a composite image.  However hard I've tried, and believe me I've tried lots, I still can't get it to look straight.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.