Telephone Box

What a grey and damp day – such a contrast to yesterday.  East coast haar.  I thought it was going to clear early afternoon – but it didn’t.  Arthur’s Seat came into view, but then disappeared again.

Work was hectic – just because I had a lot of stuff to get through.  I ended up having to stay much later than I had intended as a random urgent request came in late in the afternoon.  Luckily I wasn’t rushing home tonight.  I was on the bus home, where I met a friend - the dad of one of BB’s classmates.  We got chatting about “the reading book”.

BB had basketball after school, then football training after afterschool club!  A busy lad.  He was quite worn out tonight.

Yesterday a post box – today a telephone box.  If I am on the bus home, I always pass this telephone box, which is becoming more and more dilapidated.  Designed by Giles Gilbert Scott, his design was in the classical style, topped with a dome.  Later designs adapted the same general look for mass production.  The Jubilee kiosk, introduced for King George V's silver jubilee in 1935 and known as the "K6", eventually became a fixture in almost every town and village.  Thank goodness for wikipedia!

The crown is different to the one on yesterday's post box.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.