Not The Union of South Africa

Another grey day.  Our train to worked was packed this morning – it is now the Borders Railway train and we get on at the second last stop before Waverley.  At the last stop a class of school kids got on and filled every available space in our carriage – I think they were going to the opening ceremony.  I had a very busy day at the office and left a couple of things in the air which I will have to pick up first thing in the morning.  At least I made it back in time to pick BB up from badminton this week.

He did his reading to me tonight and he was introduced to The Grateful Dead and to Janis Joplin and the fact that she died of a drug overdose!  I am sure most of this passes by him as he has no idea who or what either is.

My blip today was going to be the Union of South Africa leaving Waverley Station with the Queen on board – celebrating  the official opening of the Borders Railway route.  Unfortunately I was stuck in a meeting when it eventually departed and so I missed it.  I took this shot from the office window at around 10.30am as we thought that was when the train was leaving. We had seen it reverse into the platform a bit earlier.    So, although you can’t see it – there is a steam train, with fancy carriages in the station at platform 7.  One of my colleagues did get a great video of it which I watched later.

The train in the blip is not the Union of South Africa!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.