Field of Bales

A lovely day, so I was up early to get a mountain of washing done and out.  BB had to get up early to finish his reading and do his last cello practice.  All done and he was at school in good time.  I walked him most of the way, crossed him over the busy roads, but he wanted to go the last bit on his own – so I let him.  I headed home to review the notes I had taken at a meeting yesterday so I could brief my boss who wasn’t around.  One hour later I came off the phone having left him with two tricky phone calls to make.  He will be glad when his weekend comes.  A project that we had almost cleared and were hopefully on the verge of getting approval for, all went wrong yesterday as a third party has stuck their oar in at a crucial point (and not for the first time).  Extremely unhelpful.

I had planned a cycle ride, but had to re-think my route as I didn’t have time for my original plan.  I still had a nice cycle, even the last three miles or so straight into the wind wasn’t too bad.

BB had hockey this afternoon – which he really enjoyed again.  He found out that hockey club is on  a Wednesday, which clashes with badminton unfortunately.  I went for a walk round by the river and spotted a new swan family with three quite young cygnets.   We headed to the new café for a post-hockey treat, he had a look at the wares on offer and declared it too fancy, so we didn’t stay – much to my disappointment!

He had other things on his mind - he wanted to head to the sports shop to look at hockey sticks. We looked!  He saw that they ranged from £18 to £80 – we left.  Next stop Greggs as he wanted a yum yum.  He ate it there and then and we then headed to the bookshop where he perused the Guinness Book of Records 2016.  The shop owner is not really keen on browsers, and although it is a book shop, it is mostly full of other stuff and books are in the minority.

Once home I did some chores and then planted some pansies to brighten the back border.  I couldn’t believe how dry and hard the ground was – but I guess we haven’t had too much rain recently (though I think it is forecast for tomorrow).

Here is a field of bales – spotted on my cycle ride.  There are not many fields like this around here as the farmers are far too efficient!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.