Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Arriving on Harris

It is very hard to know which photo to show you today, so there are extras.  

After a night of high winds, it was raining and very windy this morning. I went first to Neist Point, a favourite place when I used to come to Skye on holiday. It was almost impossible to stand up safely on the top so I had to abandon the idea of walking towards the lighthouse.

I drove to Trumpan to pay tribute to John Bowlby (of attachment, separation and loss fame).  His grave is in the graveyard by the ruin of a church with dramatic views. Since I last visited, his wife Ursula has died and the marble gravestone is now home to a few lichens.)

Then to the Fairy Glen with amazing conical hills, old trees and lots of people.

I was in good time for the ferry from Uig to Tarbert and my blip shows a typical view of houses on Harris.

Our hotel is beside the ferry terminal and my room looks out onto this.  I think it might be quite noisy when the ferry arrives!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.