Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A wonderful day on Harris

The weather today was wonderful.

I spent the morning on Luskentyre beach. This is rated one of the best 10 beaches in the world and today I shared it with about 12 other people (and not all at once).  I watched gannets diving. It was a bit bright for photography but great for sitting and enjoying.

The rest of the photographers arrived at lunchtime and we then headed out in 2 mini buses for the beach of Traigh Iar. There was a lot of contrast between the marram grasses, the beach and the sea.

This morning I visited Donald John Mackay, the most famous weaver on Harris, and bought 2 metres of Harris tweed for Julie. Donald was kind enough to demonstrate the weaving even though he was due out to take his dog for a "haircut"!  Julie, don't worry, I bought green as requested, not shocking pink!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.