FlowerFriday - Jersey Lily or is it?

I don;t normally join in Flower Friday as flowers are definitely not my thing. give me a bug or beastie on a flower and I'm happy, but a flower by it self hmm!
It's the time of year when Jersey Lilies are blooming all over the island in peoples gardens, so a perfect opportunity. I found these in a yard near the track I go down regularly. I hadn't noticed them before so was really pleased that I saw them today. I had a look on Google to find some more info about the flowers and was quite shocked to discover that they aren't local at all but hail from South Africa. They are in fact a type of amaryllis, but how they became synonymous with Jersey I have no idea. It would explain why they do well  over here and not in other less sunny parts of the UK though.

Thanks as always to Biker Bear for hosting Flower Friday.

Also popped to town this afternoon, parking at Mount Bingham as we wanted to look at a photographic exhibition by local artists up at the Fort. Unfortunately it was closed by the time we'd finished in town. It's on for another week so might give it another go.

I did take some other shots and they're on my Flickr if you're interested. Be warned though there is a spider amongst them, on a flower!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.