... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Golden Pheasants

Crisper detail in large.

Today was my last day at the NHM (for the foreseeable future). It was lovely to catch up with museum friends, and I'm pleased with how much I managed to get done over the course of the summer (even though didn't manage to get in nearly as much as hoped).

I had a brief photo-amble in the middle of the day (cut short by the compact camera's battery running out...): I photographed more of the terracotta details (water rails, close-up detail of the pheasant's face), and also found myself drawn to the main entrance / exit. I've previously blipped the demoiselle cranes, and took a close-up today.

On my way out in the evening, I managed to squeeze the camera's battery and snapped one of the few remaining taxidermy birds in the bird gallery (a screeching owl), which almost made my blip spot. I chose the pheasants because they reminded me of my recent Kew encounter...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.