Photogen

By Photogen

An apple a day

My Discovery apple tree has produced a bumper crop this year. They are delicious cooked with some berries added to the mix - usually frozen rasps or blueberries. Today I added aronia berries which I'd ordered on the Internet. They are native to North America and commonly found in wet woods and swamps, but they are now grown commercially in Scotland. I have ordered  a couple of bushes as I have a suitably sheltered swampy spot in the garden for them! 
They are very rich in phytonutrients, plant compounds that have beneficial effects on human health, sometimes referred to  as a 'superfood'. They are richer in antioxidants than raspberries, goji and acai berries and with three times the level of antioxidants found in blueberries - also said to help ward off heart disease, as well as cancer. The berries have been used for hundreds of years in medicine, as food and clothing dye. It has been only recently that it was discovered how healthy these berries are. I should be bursting with energy after comsuming that lot, accompanied by coconut soya yogurt and almonds!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.